Martin Buber-Plaque Awarding Ceremony 2016

The philosopher Martin Buber (1878-1965) - among other achievements - became known by his "dialogical principle". This way of thinking implies that ONE human being - "I" - really perceives and accepts the OTHER as "YOU".
By listening to each other respectfully we can give a responding, i.e. responsible answer to the OTHER.

In the course of the annual International Festival of Dialogue EURIADE, the Martin Buber-Plaque is given to people who live their lives in this responsible way. They are able to listen to and to give supporting answers to people needing help.

The Martin Buber-Plaque will be conferred on

                      Klaus Johannis,

the President of Rumania, at Rolduc Abbey in Kerkrade/NL on November 18, 2016.

The “curatorium” Martin Buber-Plaque and the board of the Euriade designate him to the laureate this year in relation to his humanity and his humane activities which show respect for the OTHER. In that way he takes his political and social responsibility in Rumania and in Europe...

More information can be downloaded here (PDF).
The Programme of the ceremony can be downloaded here (PDF - only in German and Dutch language).

Holders of the Martin Buber-Plaque

2015: Thomas Quasthoff
              Click HERE for photos of the 2015 award ceremony
2014: Her Majesty Queen Silvia of Sweden
              Click HERE for photos of the 2014 award ceremony
2013: Hans-Dietrich Genscher
              Click HERE for photos of the 2013 award ceremony
2012: Garry Kasparov
2011: Peter Maffay
2010: H.R.H. Princess Irene van Lippe-Biesterfeld
              Click HERE for photos of the 2010 award ceremony
2009: Dr. Hugo Tempelman en Liesje Tempelman
              Click HERE for photos of the 2009 award ceremony
2008: Michael Gorbatschow, former leader of the Sovjet Union and
              President of the Gorbatschow Foundation, and Irina Virganskaya,
              Vice-President of the Gorbatschow Foundation and President of
              the Raissa Maximovna Clubs
2007: Waris Dirie, UN-Ambassador
2006: Klaus-Maria Brandauer, actor and founder of the
2005: Herman van Veen, philosopher and artist, founder of the
2004: Karl-heinz Böhm, founder of the
              „Menschen für Menschen“- Foundation in Ethiopia
2003: Dr. Richard von Weizsäcker, former President of the
              Federal Republic of Germany
2002: Helmut Schmidt, former Chancellor of the Federal Republic of
Klaus Johannis  
Thomas Quasthoff Ihrer Majestät Königin Silvia von Schweden
Hans-Dietrich Genscher Garri Kasparov
Peter Maffay Prinzessin Irene
Liesje Tempelman Hugo Tempelman
Michael Gorbatschow Irina
Waris Dirie Klaus Maria Brandauer
Herman van Veen Karlheinz Böhm
Richard von Weizsäcker Helmut Schmidt